Reflections Week of 9/24/17

Different members of our church family write these reflections each week to go along with the two year reading plan the church is participating in. It is our hope that these reflections help you to get in to your Bible throughout the week and be challenged by the word of God.

Read Psalm 23 (Monday 9/25)

I remember my seventh grade Bible class at Desert Christian Middle School like it was just seven years ago. Which is to say, not very well. However, my one shining memory was a quiz that involved writing this very passage out, in its entirety. Now, with only one hundred and ten words to write, this seems upon first blush to be an incredibly simple task. However, as someone who struggles deeply with memorization, I buried my entire being in getting this passage committed to memory.

It was at that moment that I realized how this had become a universally acclaimed passage. David seems to hit on some pretty large tenants of the Christian faith. Quotes about restoring his soul in chapter three, fearing no evil due to his presence in verse four. If there is any one feeling that speaks to me, it is a feeling of reassurance. That God has not, does not, and will not abandon us under any circumstance.

In the end, I believe I got 100 percent on that quiz. Obviously, fourteen year old me was ecstatic. A good grade was a good grade, to be sure. However, the implications were far reaching. It showed me for the first time some of the many attributes that God has, and for that, I will always be grateful.

Read Psalm 27 (Wednesday 9/27)

Continuing the theme of my wondrous middle school years, we would often sing the same set of worship songs during chapel. One of the hooks on a particular song would sing out in a large crescendo, “whom then shall I fear?” It was a constant question that seemed to ring out for a lot of my time at the school.
Taking a step back and looking at fear, in general, we see a huge pull in today’s society when it comes to fear. There is a fear of the economy, our congressional leadership, fear of losing our friends and family. I could spend eight bulletins talking just about individual fears in America.

However, David says later in verse four that he asks only to dwell with the Lord in his house. At first, to me, that seemed like a non-answer. “David!” I thought to myself. “You aren’t dealing with the increased tensions with North Korea’s nuclear tests!” But at the end of the day, David was well aware of his problems, and as seen by later books, he certainly did not ignore them. Rather, he found solace in God’s promise. And that is a beauty that is far greater than fear.

 Reflections written by Jax Gorman

 

Leave a comment